Arkansas nominates 14 properties to National Register of Historic Places

Published 8 December 2017

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program has nominated 14 properties to the National Register of Historic Places.

The program’s State Review Board nominated:

  • Johnny Cash Boyhood Home at Dyess in Mississippi County.
  • Sherman Mound and Village in Mississippi County, an archeological site with evidence of activity between 1200 and 1650 A.D.
  • The Arkansas Teachers Association headquarters building and professional services building in Little Rock.
  • The College Avenue Historic District in Conway.
  • The Greenwood School at Hot Springs.
  • The Robert Wanslow House, Fitzgerald Historic District and Elmwood Cemetery in Fort Smith.
  • The R.L. Leach Grocery Store at Dutch Mills in Washington County.
  • The Highfill Community Building in Highfill.
  • The Gentry Grand Army of the Republic Monument in Gentry.
  • The Green Valley Homestead at Sturkie in Fulton County.
  • The Blytheville Air Force Base Strategic Air Command Alert and Weapons Storage Areas Historic District in Blytheville.

Mark Christ, a spokesman for the program, said they should know within two months if the properties are listed on the National Register.

Read Friday's Arkansas Democrat-Gazette for full details.